Anti-M

Authors: Gwen Clarke, MD, FRCPC; Jacqueline Côté, MLT; and Debra Lane, MD, FRCPC
Publication date: August 2017

Background

Anti-M is an antibody directed to an antigen of the MNS blood group system. The M antigen is located on the red blood cell surface glycoprotein known as glycophorin A.

Anti-M may be naturally occurring (i.e. arising without stimulus by transfusion or pregnancy related red blood cell exposure) or can be an immune stimulated antibody. In either case, it is predominantly an IgM antibody with some associated IgG component and often occurs in association with other antibodies. If a “new” anti-M is found in a prenatal patient, it is not unusual to find at delivery that the baby is M negative. This is presumptive evidence that the anti-M seen prenatally in the maternal plasma is naturally occurring and not immune stimulated.

In the context of transfusion, anti-M is considered clinically insignificant for most patients. It does not typically contribute to acute or delayed hemolytic transfusion reactions. An exception is anti-M in some patients with sickle cell disease. In this context, anti-M can contribute to hemolysis or even trigger hyper hemolysis. Similarly, anti-M in the presence of hypothermic therapies or surgical procedures could also contribute to hemolysis.

Anti-M is rarely associated with hemolytic disease of the fetus and newborn (HDFN).

Routine donor antigen typing (phenotyping) at Canadian Blood Services does not include M typing. Requests for M negative red blood cell units therefore result in additional manual phenotyping. 

Patient management: Pre-transfusion testing

When anti-M is detected in a patient’s pre-transfusion sample testing, it is generally considered to be a clinically insignificant antibody. Usually there is no requirement for selection of M antigen negative donor red blood cells. Instead, red blood cell units that are crossmatch compatible to the IAT stage or equivalent using IgG antihuman globulin should be selected for transfusion.

When the patient has an antibody that is broadly reactive or pan reactive and it is not possible to “rule out” anti-M, then donor red blood cells that are phenotypically similar to the patient’s red blood cell antigens may be selected. Typically this includes red blood cell units negative for the same clinically significant antigens that the patient lacks. When selecting phenotype-matched red cells for transfusion, the Rh, Kell, Kidd and Duffy blood group systems are considered along with the S antigen. M typing is not usually considered when seeking phenotypically matched red blood cells. If possible, crossmatch compatible donor units to the IAT or equivalent test would also be selected from among those found to be phenotypically similar.

If IAT crossmatch compatible units are difficult to find, an IAT prewarm technique can sometimes be helpful. Often, anti-M reacts best at room temperature or 4 °C, even if there is an IgG component to the antibody. Prewarm techniques may diminish or eliminate anti-M reactivity and allow for a compatible crossmatch.

For patients undergoing therapies which induce hypothermia, including some cardiac surgical procedures, providing M negative units for patients with anti-M is recommended.

Sickle cell patients

For sickle cell patients without antibodies, most guidelines recommend transfusion of Rh and Kell matched units. For those patients with one or more antibodies, complete donor phenotype matching is often recommended. Typically, this matching includes the Rh, Kell, Kidd and Duffy blood group systems along with the S antigen, and not M matching.

For sickle cell patients with an identified anti-M, however, M negative red blood cell units should be provided, in addition to phenotyping that otherwise matches the patient red blood cell antigen and antibody profile. Anti-M in this clinical context can be associated with hemolytic reactions; therefore, assuring compatibility by providing M antigen negative red cells is required.

Patient management: Prenatal testing

Anti-M is a common antibody detected in prenatal samples. Most often it is not clinically significant as it is predominantly an IgM antibody which does not cross the placental barrier.

To distinguish IgM from IgG anti-M, some antibody identification methods exist that exclude IgM antibodies. In addition, special techniques such as DTT treatment of plasma may help distinguish between the two. When the anti-M is determined to be an IgG antibody that reacts at 37 °C, it is considered a clinically significant antibody and the paternal partner should be tested for the presence of the M antigen. The mother’s prenatal serological anti-M levels are monitored with regular antibody titration during the antenatal period.  

Only very rarely does anti-M reach a critical titer. Recent literature suggests that anti-M may act through fetal erythroid suppression rather than through hemolysis. This may result in neonatal onset anemia rather than fetal anemia. Canadian Blood Services prenatal reports generally recommend that antigen M positive neonates born to mothers with anti-M antibodies should be clinically monitored for late onset anemia at 3 – 6 weeks post-delivery. The specific comment provided on prenatal reports is: Anti-M may cause suppression of fetal erythropoiesis. It is recommended that the baby be monitored for symptoms of late-onset anemia up to 2 months of age. Ref: Trans Med Rev 2014; 28:1-6.

Occasional case reports of severe intrauterine fetal anemia due to anti-M can be found. This is very exceptional, however, and despite the relatively common detection of anti-M in pregnant women, significant fetal or neonatal anemia is very unusual in North America.

References

Reid M, Lomas Francis C and Olsson M. The Blood Group Antigens Facts Book. MNS Blood group System. Page 67.

Fung M, Grossman B, Hillyer C, Westhoff C. AABB Technical Manual, 18th Ed. Chapter 14: Other Blood Groups; M, N, S, s and U antibodies and their clinical significance. Page 343.

Daniels G. Human Blood Groups 3rd ed. 2013. Chapter 3: MNS Blood Group System, 3.18.3:  Clinical Significance of anti M and anti N. Page 137.

Working Party of the BCSH Blood Transfusion Task Force. Guidelines for compatibility procedures in blood transfusion laboratories. Transfusion Medicine 2004; 14, 59 – 73.

NHS Blood and Transplant. NHSBT: Specification SPN214/3: The Clinical Significance of Blood Group Alloantibodies and the Supply of Blood for Transfusion. http://hospital.blood.co.uk/media/27446/spn2143-the-clinical-significance-of-blood-group-alloantibodies-and-the-supply-of-blood-for-transfusion.pdf

Yasuda H, Ohto H, Nollet KE, Kawabata K, Saito S, Yagi Y, Yutaka N, Ishida A. Hemolytic disease of the fetus and newborn with late-onset anemia due to anti-M: a case report and review of the Japanese literature. Transfusion Medicine Reviews 2014; 28 (1): 1-6.

Davis, Allard, Qureshi et al. for BCSH. Guidelines on red cell transfusion in sickle cell disease. Part I: principles and laboratory aspects. http://www.b-s-h.org.uk/guidelines/guidelines/red-cell-transfusion-in-sickle-cell-disease-part-l/

Skeate, S and Goldman, M. Phenotype matching for sickle cell patients: A review and recommendations for transfusion practice. https://professionaleducation.blood.ca/en/transfusion/publications/phenotype-matching-sickle-cell-patients-review-and-recommendations

Canadian Blood Services Diagnostic Services. Year In Review 2015. https://blood.ca/en/hospital/diagnostic-services-reports

The Canadian Haemoglobinopathy Association (CanHaem). Consensus Statement on the Care of Patients with Sickle Cell disease in Canada. 2016. http://sicklecellanemia.ca/pdf_2016/CANHAEM.pdf

Issitt, P. Applied Blood Group Serology, 4th edition. 1998. Page 463.

Anti-M

Auteurs : Dre Gwen Clarke, FRCPC; Dre Jacqueline Côté, MLT; et Dre Debra Lane, FRCPC
Date de publication : août 2017, Mis à jour le 25 septembre 2018

Contexte

L’anti-M est un anticorps dirigé contre l’antigène M, un antigène du système de groupes sanguins MNS. Cet antigène est porté par la glycophorine A, une glycoprotéine que l’on retrouve à la surface des globules rouges.

L’anti-M peut être présent naturellement dans l’organisme ou être le produit d’une réaction immunitaire due à une exposition à des globules rouges étrangers à la suite d’une transfusion ou d’une grossesse. Quel que soit le cas, il s’agit principalement d’un anticorps de classe IgM associé avec une portion de classe IgG et qui apparaît souvent en même temps que d’autres anticorps. Lorsque l’on trouve un « nouvel » anti-M chez une femme enceinte, il n’est pas rare que le bébé soit M négatif à la naissance, ce qui constitue la preuve par présomption que l’anti‑M détecté dans le plasma de la mère ne découle pas d’une réponse immunitaire, mais est présent naturellement.

En médecine transfusionnelle, l’anti-M est considéré comme étant cliniquement négligeable pour la plupart des patients, car il n’entraîne, en général, aucune réaction hémolytique aiguë ou retardée, sauf les patients drépanocytaires chez qui il peut entraîner une hémolyse, ou même précipiter une hyperhémolyse.

L’anti-M est très rarement associé à la maladie hémolytique du fœtus et du nouveau-né.

Le typage de l’antigène M chez les donneurs ne fait pas partie des analyses (phénotypages) réalisées systématiquement par la Société canadienne du sang. Par conséquent, toute demande d’unité de culot globulaire M négatif requiert la réalisation d’un phénotypage manuel additionnel

Gestion des patients

Analyses prétransfusionnelles

La présence d’un anti-M dans le sang d’un patient avant une transfusion est généralement considérée comme cliniquement négligeable. Il n’est pas nécessaire de transfuser au patient des globules rouges M négatifs. On peut, à la place, lui transfuser des globules rouges jugés compatibles à l’aide d’un test indirect à l’antiglobuline, ou d’une méthode équivalente qui utilise un sérum antiglobuline humaine IgG.

Lorsque le patient possède un anticorps à large spectre ou panréactif et qu’il est impossible de savoir s’il est porteur de l’anti-M, on choisira de lui transfuser des globules rouges présentant un phénotype similaire à ses antigènes érythrocytaires, c’est-à-dire des globules rouges exempts de tous les antigènes d’importance clinique que le patient ne possède pas. Lors du choix des globules rouges, les systèmes rhésus, Kell, Kidd et Duffy devront être pris en compte, ainsi que l’antigène S. L’antigène M n’est en général pas pris en compte lors de la recherche de globules rouges présentant une compatibilité phénotypique. Il faudra donc, si possible, choisir des globules rouges au phénotype similaire qui auront été jugés compatibles à l’aide d’un test indirect à l’antiglobuline, ou équivalent.

S’il est impossible de trouver des globules rouges présentant une compatibilité lors du test indirect à l’antiglobuline, on peut utiliser des techniques de préchauffage, qui peuvent parfois s’avérer utiles, car souvent, l’anti-M est plus réactif à température ambiante ou à 4 °C, même s’il s’agit d’un anticorps de classe IgG. Le préchauffage peut minimiser ou empêcher la réactivité de l’anti-M, ce qui permet de réaliser l’épreuve de compatibilité.

Pour les patients porteurs de l’anti-M qui subissent des traitements entraînant de l’hypothermie, y compris les chirurgies cardiaques, certains services de transfusion recommandent de transfuser des globules rouges M négatifs. À noter toutefois que cela n’est appuyé par aucune donnée.

Patients drépanocytaires

Pour les patients drépanocytaires qui ne possèdent pas d’anticorps, la plupart des directives recommandent la transfusion de globules rouges Rh et Kell compatibles. Pour ceux qui possèdent un ou plusieurs anticorps, il est souvent recommandé de réaliser une épreuve de compatibilité phénotypique complète. Cette épreuve devra porter sur les systèmes rhésus, Kell, Kidd et Duffy, ainsi que sur l’antigène S, et non sur l’antigène M.

Pour les patients drépanocytaires qui possèdent un anti-M, on transfusera des globules rouges M négatifs, qui devront également avoir un phénotype compatible avec les profils antigéniques et anticorps. Étant donné que l’anti-M peut entraîner des réactions hémolytiques dans ce contexte clinique, la transfusion de globules rouges M négatifs compatibles est impérative.

Analyses prénatales

L’anti-M est souvent identifié lors des analyses prénatales. La plupart du temps, cela n’a pas d’importance clinique puisqu’il s’agit principalement d’un anti-M de classe IgM qui ne traverse pas la barrière placentaire.

Pour pouvoir distinguer l’anti-M de classe IgM et l’anti-M de classe IgG, on peut avoir recours à des méthodes d’identification des anticorps qui excluent les anticorps de classe IgM, ou encore à d’autres techniques, comme le traitement du plasma au dithiothréitol (DTT).

S’il s’agit d’un anti-M de classe IgG qui réagit à 37 °C et dont le taux est élevé ou en augmentation, le père devra être soumis à une recherche de l’antigène M à cause des risques cliniques potentiels. Le taux sérique d’anti-M de la mère devra faire l’objet d’un suivi avec titrage fréquent des anticorps pendant toute la période prénatale : on peut commencer par effectuer des titrages intermittents afin de déterminer si le taux d’anticorps augmente et, si c’est le cas, on peut continuer le titrage.

Toutefois, ces taux atteignent très rarement un niveau critique qui nécessite le suivi du fœtus par un spécialiste en périnatalogie. De récentes publications suggèrent que l’anti-M inhiberait l’érythropoïèse chez le fœtus au lieu de provoquer une hémolyse, ce qui provoquerait une anémie néonatale au lieu d’une anémie fœtale. En général, les rapports prénataux de la Société canadienne du sang recommandent que les bébés nés de mères possédant des anticorps anti‑M fassent l’objet d’un suivi clinique afin de pouvoir déceler l’apparition d’une anémie tardive entre trois et six semaines après l’accouchement. Ces rapports ont fait l’objet du commentaire suivant : L’anti-M peut supprimer l’érythropoïèse fœtale. Il est recommandé de surveiller l’apparition des symptômes d’une anémie tardive chez le nourrisson jusqu’à deux mois après l’accouchement. Réf. : Trans Med Rev. 2014; vol. 18, pp. 1-6.

D’autres cas d’anémie fœtale grave provoquée par l’anti-M ont été rapportés dans la littérature. Il s’agit là de cas très exceptionnels et, en dépit de la présence relativement courante de l’anti-M chez les femmes enceintes, il est rare qu’en Amérique du Nord on constate l’apparition d’une anémie significative chez le fœtus ou le nouveau-né.

Références

1.    Reid M, Lomas Francis C and Olsson M. The Blood Group Antigens Facts Book. MNS Blood group System. Page 67.
2.    
Fung M, Grossman B, Hillyer C, Westhoff C. AABB Technical Manual, 18th Ed. Chapter 14: Other Blood Groups; M, N, S, s and U antibodies and their clinical significance. Page 343.
3.    
Daniels G. Human Blood Groups 3rd ed. 2013. Chapter 3: MNS Blood Group System, 3.18.3: Clinical Significance of anti M and anti N. Page 137.
4.    
Working Party of the BCSH Blood Transfusion Task Force. Guidelines for compatibility procedures in blood transfusion laboratories. Transfusion Medicine 2004; 14, 59-73.
5.    NHS Blood and Transplant. NHSBT: Specification SPN214/3: The Clinical Significance of Blood Group Alloantibodies and the Supply of Blood for Transfusion. http://hospital.blood.co.uk/media/27446/spn2143-the-clinical-significance-of-blood-group-alloantibodies-and-the-supply-of-blood-for-transfusion.pdf
6.    Yasuda H, Ohto H, Nollet KE, Kawabata K, Saito S, Yagi Y, Yutaka N, Ishida A. Hemolytic disease of the fetus and newborn with late-onset anemia due to anti-M: a case report and review of the Japanese literature. Transfusion Medicine Reviews 2014; 28 (1): 1-6.
7.    
Davis, Allard, Qureshi et al. for BCSH. Guidelines on red cell transfusion in sickle cell disease. Part I: principles and laboratory aspects.  http://www.b-s-h.org.uk/guidelines/guidelines/red-cell-transfusion-in-sickle-cell-disease-part-l/
8.    Skeate, S and Goldman, M. Jumelage de patients atteints d’anémie falciforme selon le phénotype : examen et recommandations aux fins transfusionnelles. https://professionaleducation.blood.ca/fr/transfusion/publications/jumelage-de-patients-atteints-danemie-falciforme-selon-le-phenotype-examen
9.    Société canadienne du sang. Services diagnostiques. Year In Review. 2015. https://blood.ca/en/hospital/diagnostic-services-reports
10.   The Canadian Haemoglobinopathy Association (CanHaem). Consensus Statement on the Care of Patients with Sickle Cell disease in Canada. 2016. http://sicklecellanemia.ca/pdf_2016/CANHAEM.pdf
11.   Issitt, P. Applied Blood Group Serology, 4th edition. 1998. Page 463.
12.   
Kurtz SR, Ouellet R, McMican A, and Valeri DR. Survival of MM red cell during hypothermia in two patients with anti M. Transfusion 1983; 23:37-39.
13.   
Jain MD, Cabrerizo-Sanchez R, Karkouti K, Yau T, Pendergrast JM, Cserti-Gazdewich CM. See and you shall find – But then what do you do? Cold agglutinins in cardiopulmonary bypass and a single-center experience with cold agglutin screening before cardiac surgery. Transfusion Medicine Reviews 2013; 27:65-73.
14.   
Stetson B, Scrape S, Markham KB. Anti M alloimmunization: Management and outcome at a single institution. Am J Perinatol Rep 2017; 7: 205-210.